Long Run (16.25k)

After the long haul in the pool yesterday (7,000m for a cumulative weekly mileage of 18,000m) it’s time this morning for the long haul out on the road.  Oh joy.  It’s funny to think now that this long 16.25k run is still nearly 75 minutes shorter than my long swim workouts.  Whoever would have seen that coming a few years ago?  Not this guy.  Anyway, today’s album du jour is the ‘Genius + Love = Yo La Tengo‘, by Yo La Tengo.  Duh.

‘Genius + Love = Yo La Tengo’  is a 2-disc album by Yo La Tengo, consisting of rarities, alternate versions, and out-takes, spanning 1988 to 1995.  The album was released on Matador in 1996; the title is a pun on the 1960 Ray Charles album, ‘Genius+Soul=Jazz’.  This was actually the second album I ever purchased by YLT and not yet fully realizing who or what  they were.  So being an odd collection of tunes it didn’t register very on my radar as an immediate hit so I shelved it and it wasn’t until a few years when I gave it (and the band) another chance; the rest is history.  Knowing what I know now, I can say it features cuts from the band in all its moods and periods between 1988 and ’95, from early dream-pop and Velvety dark minimalism to disciplined Sonic Youth guitar noise and all stops in between.

The first disc contains songs with vocals. There are several cover songs, such as John Cale’s ‘Hanky Panky Nohow‘, The Velvet Underground‘s ‘I’m Set Free‘, and excellent version of Jackson Browne‘s ‘Somebody’s Baby‘, Beat Happening’s ‘Cast A Shadow‘, and Wire’s ‘Too Late‘.  The cover of Daniel Johnston’s ‘Speeding Motorcycle‘ features Johnston calling in his vocals to the song via telephone.  ‘Demons‘ originally appeared on the soundtrack to the 1995 film ‘I Shot Andy Warhol’ (in which YLT appeared as a Velvet Underground-esque band).

The second disc consists entirely of instrumental pieces.  Included are songs previously recorded by the group (such as an 8-second drum solo – yeah, really), and covers, such as The Urinals’ ‘Surfin’ With The Shah‘, and a wedding-band-like rendition of the Ramones’ ‘Blitzkrieg Bop’.  The last ditty winding up the album and my run is ‘Sunsquashed‘, a mere 26-minute long psychedelic jam, from which one of the band’s main fansites took its name.

Today represents what I’m going to refer to as my first official – dare I say it – “Spring Run”; sans jacket, short sleeves and anything.  Likewise, this was my first opportunity to focus on my “positive self-talk” statements; my homework assignment for my current Cognitive Testing at Brock (post on that to come in the future).  Today’s statement down the Friendship Trail (while exchanging a few High-5’s and “God Job’s” to a few other runners out pounding the trail as well) and then back in along MacDonald Dr. through a series of short tempo bursts into both my half marathon (5:30min/km) and 5k race paces (sub 5:00min/km) was “Be Calm and Push On”; for an average pace overall of 5:42min/km.  Not bad, not bad.  Maybe there’s something to this whole motivational self-talk stuff or, maybe it was just the rockin’ tunes (especially the instrumental version of ‘From a Motel 6‘  which helped keep the pace up for the last interval down Thunder Bay Rd…or, a combination of both.  All in all, a good run today.

YES PLEASE!

YES PLEASE!

Time to tuck into my “recovery reward”, a boxed lunch consisting of roasted red pepper soup and a grilled smoked ham sandwich w/ brie and Dijon mustard sandwich from the Flying Squirrel Coffee Lounge here in town.

PB’s:  3rd overall Strava time in 2015 for ‘Burleigh to Bernard’  segment (4:06); best effort in 2015 for Thunder Bay Rd. (11:11)

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Long and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

