Drills/Easy Run (6.5k)

I have agreed to be a participant in another crazy-ass sporting and exercise study at Brock beginning this Wednesday with my V02-Max test, so I won’t want to do a whole lot today.  Therefore, despite my long run tomorrow I’m back out this afternoon for a short and easy 6.5k drill run.  Besides, it’s fucking gorgeous out and I need to get away from my desk and out from my basement office for a spell.  Nothing heavy mind you;  just getting the legs turning over.  I also have some cool to listen to, the soundtrack to the Netflix movie I watched last night ‘Lawless‘.

Released in cinemas in 2012, the movie explores the actions of three brothers: Forrest (Hardy), Howard (Clarke), and Jack Bondurant (LaBeouf), who made and sold moonshine in Franklin County, Virginia, during Prohibition recounting the Franklin County Moonshine Conspiracy in the 1930’s.  The screenplay was written by none other than Nick Cave based on the historical novel ‘The Wettest County in the World’  by Matt Bondurant.  The movie was decent; the soundtrack was killer.

Here the ex-Grinderman/current Bad Seeds provocateurs Nick Cave and Warren Ellis partnering to provide a typically atmospheric score that evokes the spirit of the 1930’s, while handing over vocal duties to some big names like Emmylou Harris, Ralph Stanley and Mark Lanegan (Screaming Trees and Queens of the Stone Age).  Hoping to achieve a consistency of tone throughout the movie, Cave and Ellis dubbed themselves the Bootleggers and recorded punk-bluegrass versions of songs, including Link Wray’s ‘Fire and Brimstone‘, Townes Van Zandt‘s ‘Fire in the Blood‘, Captain Beefheart‘s ‘Sure ‘Nuff Yes I Do‘  and two versions of the Velvet Underground‘s ‘White Light/White Heat‘ (the version by Stanley is particularly haunting).

“We’d already recorded a version of ‘White Light/White Heat,’ and we wanted him to sing over the top of that, and he listened to our tracks and said there was no way in the world he was going to sing over that shit, basically,” Cave says with a laugh. “He’s used to not only a different style, but singing with bluegrass players, and we’re not, and that’s not what we’re trying to do.”

Willie Nelson also makes an appearance as the bonus track, providing a previously unreleased song called ‘Midnight Run‘.

The over all attitude and feel of the soundtrack on the whole is spectacular; “Americana” roots at it’s finest.  It was the perfect thing to run with today given it’s 2° outside and I have no particular pace or schedule to keep with this run aside from my drills and just enjoying being outside…in my spring jacket no less.  Shit, with all this mention of moonshine I’ve been listening to on this album, I might even have a drink with my lunch!

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Easy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

