Easy Spin

It’s becoming a habit of mine to slip in my own spin prior to teaching my own class at 6:30pm, except that Old Man Winter – the dick he is – has been playing havoc with my Monday evening routine by dumping tons of white shit and forcing the gym closed.  So I’m getting this spin train back on track beginning with this 50 minute easy(ish) spin to the latest album by the John Butler Trio, ‘Flesh & Blood‘.

The Aussie roots virtuoso John Butler has been a staple of my spin classes for some time now, particularly ‘Funky Tonight‘  and ‘Don’t Understand‘; both fast-paced rockers perfectly for turning the pedals over at high cadences.  So when I learned they had a another album out, released a year ago, I knew I had to give is a spin (literally and figuratively).

The album (their 6th) was recorded over 20 days at Butler’s studio ‘The Compound’ during December 2012, with extra recording sessions taking place in 2013.  The photograph used on the album cover was taken in Butler’s backyard shed at his home.  The album debuted and peaked at #2 on the ARIA Albums Chart and was certified gold by the Australian Recording Industry Association for shipments exceeding 35,000 copies.

The album starts off well enough with cool tunes ‘Spring to Come‘ and ‘Living In the City‘, which will inevitably stay on my iPod for future spinning tunes.  ‘Cold Wind’, ‘Bullet Girl‘ and ‘Devil Woman‘ are really awesome too, the last which will make for some good future sprinting.  But then the album takes a more mellow turn beginning with ‘Blame It On Me‘.  ‘Young and Wild‘  in particular is really pretty and so is ‘How You Sleep At Night‘.  All in all, it wasn’t the aggressively funky album I was expected but it certainly had it’s moments and flows together well making for a great easy spin with a few out of the saddle efforts.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Spin and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

