Vinyl Sunday (Part 1)

“Vinyl Sunday” is becoming a popular weekend tradition here in our happy household.  I love that HRH  finds this whole record thing interesting and relishes checking out new music and the fact that she it entices her to read for an hour two as part of the process is pretty sweet too.  So to begin this weekend’s celebration we visited the local record shop and routed out something cool to listen to, namely this ‘Darker Than Blue: Soul From Jamdown 1973-1980‘  album.

Jamdown

For my part, I’ve never heard of it and the album cover appealed to me.  HRH agreed so that was it, I plopped down the $10 and we beat it home to kickstart the whole “Vinyl Sunday” ceremony.

Having never heard of any of the artists before I had to do a little Googling to find some history on the album itself.  Turns out it’s a collection soul, jazz and reggae artists from Jamaica covering American funk.  The album cover is actually a photo the crowd at a reggae festival in Brockwell Park, Brixton (a district of South London ), in 1974.  How’s that for a cross-pollination of culture?

Bands/artists featuring on this two record collection The Boris Gardiner Happening, The Chosen Few, Freddie McGregor, Al Brown, Milton Henry (covering Crystal Waters ‘Gypsy Woman‘), Jimmy London (covering James & Bobby Purify’s ‘I’m Your Puppet‘), Junior Murvin, Delroy Wilson (covering The TemptationsGet Ready‘), Lloyd Charmers and a whole host of others.  Yeah, I’ve never heard of any of them either but collectively, it’s a pretty sweet listen.  The best of which in my opinion is a killer version of the classic Bill Withers ‘Ain’t No Sunshine‘  by Ken Boothe.  HRH‘s favorite was ‘Hotter Reggae Music‘  by Welton Irie.  Absolutely perfect for enjoying a quiet winter afternoon in warm comforts of a cozy chair/couch with a good book and a few slices of cold pizza, when the rest of the world is getting all geared up for the Super Bowl, of which, none of us here could give two hoots about.  On with the celebration!

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

