Snow Shoveling

Well, “Snowmageddon” has finally arrived on our doorstep.  We’ve had a bit over the past three days but nothing like what the newscasters have been warning us about to no end.   Crud.  So although I’ve already swam 4.5k this morning, participated in a 90 minute Masters Spin class and then topped it all off with a 20 minute Brick run, my cheery on top of this shit sundae is getting to shovel snow for the next half hour or so.  Oh joy.  But endure it I must, so I’ve cracked my last beer, donned ma winter boots and Hulk toque and uploaded the two newest EP’s by the Pixies onto my iPod.  I may as well make the best of it.  Let’s start with ‘EP-1‘ shall we?

Apart from the 2004 single ‘Bam Thwok‘  and a cover of Warren Zevon’s ‘Ain’t That Pretty At All‘, this EP, along with the 2013 single ‘Bagboy‘, is the first new material from the band in more than 20 years. This is the first “album” (if you want to call it that) they have released without founding member Kim Deal, who quit earlier in the year. It is the first in a series of releases planned through the band’s web site and designed by Vaughan Oliver.

Released in 2013, reviews were not favorable.  Jayson Greene of the music news and review site Pitchfork castigated ‘EP-1‘, claiming that there is “no Pixies in this Pixies”  and giving it the rare score of 1.0 (out of 10).  Ben Sisario of the New York Times refers to the EP as “less screamy and uptight”  but the overall dynamics of the Pixies are still present. The track ‘Indie Cindy‘, however, has been praised for sounding like a classic Pixies song though.  Other songs that make up the EP are ‘Andro Queen‘ (total shit), ‘Another Toe in the Ocean‘ (pretty cool actually – I enjoyed it), and ‘What Goes Boom‘ (‘What Goes Pfft‘  is more like it).

And then there’s ‘EP-2‘.  Seriously, you’d think they would come up with more creative names, eh?

220px-pixiesep2cover

EP-2‘ was released in January of 2014 as part of those planned releases.  Like ‘EP-1‘, reviews were not good.  Pitchfork gave it a rating of 2.0 (again, out of 10) and everybody else, including Rolling Stone seemed to agree.  Now, while I agree that there are no ‘Trompe Le Monde’  quality tracks on either of these EP’s, shit there’s no ‘Doolittle‘  neither, there are some semblances of the old school ‘Bossanova‘ days…so it’s not a total loss.  ‘Magdalena‘  is not without it quirky charms (made all the cooler in the late night falling snow) and ‘Snakes‘ is pretty neat too.  Beats the shit of me what inspired the track though.  Maybe Frank had some bad LSD or something.  But by this time, my arms and back were sore, my beer was empty and my feet were frozen, so he could have been singing about snapping turtles and I wouldn’t have given a second thought.  ‘Blue Eyed Hexe‘  and ‘Greens and Blues‘  were, well, ordinary and lame.

Anyway, the driveway is done.  I’ve had my Pixies fix and now I’m craving a peanut butter and banana sandwich and some shitty television with the cat until I pass out.  God I hate winter.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Other and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

