Long Run (12k)

It’s damp and very, very grey outside today.  Hardly the kind of day that you just can’t wait to get out and be a part of, but I guess this is the same weather that makes winter runners such beasts in that they go out and get ‘er done anyway.  At least that’s what I kept telling myself anyway around my planned 12k route this morning down Erie Rd. past the Buffalo Yacht Club and up Point Abino Rd. before turning back in along Michener Rd.; sloshing all the way.  Today’s run was set to the, well, let’s say “unique” ‘Flaming Lips and the Heady Fwends‘  album.

Recorded throughout 2011 and 2012, this versatile Flaming Lips album was originally released as a limited edition on vinyl for Record Store Day on April 21, 2012 and on CD and digitally on June 26, 2012.  Four songs from the album were previously released on previous collaborative EP’s with bands Neon Indian, Lightning Bolt, Prefuse 73 and Yoko Ono, all recorded after their 2009 ‘Embryonic‘  album; the other remaining seven songs were recorded at different times and locations and are exclusive to the LP.  Besides the aforementioned bands above, there is a wealth of other talent amongst the “fwends” including Chris Martin from Coldplay, Jim James (from My Morning Jacket),  Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeroes, Bon Iver, Biz Markie (yeah, that  guy), Ke$sha, Tame Impala, Erykah Badu (the result of Wayne Coyne’s unsolicited calls to the singer), and even Nick Cave.

The best part of this listen is the names of the tracks themselves; nobody knows how to spin a more interesting track title than the Lips.  Just listen to these gems:  ‘I’m Working at NASA on Acid‘, ‘Helping the Retarded to Find God‘, ‘Supermoon Made Me Want to Pee‘, and ‘Is David Bowie Dying?‘.  C’mon, those tunes have just got to peak your interest just a little, right?  Such is the case when the my legs begin to get tired; it’s something else to occupy my mind.  And the songs as just weird as they sound, believe me.  Hard to describe really.  It’s everything you would expect from a Flaming Lips vs. any other band mash-up that they’ve become known and popular for.  You’re not likely to put it on at parties but it’s still a pretty interesting listen.

As far as the run went I didn’t quite feel the “boom” (to quote from the lame Kevin James movie I watched over breakfast this morning) today and it ended up being pretty much touch and go; dark points (the 4 to 7k mark) which will then be immediately followed by some “hey, I feel pretty good”  moments (at 8k and again at the 11k mark).  I still don’t have that established baseline or run confidence yet so my mood and perceived exertion will still flip flop back and forth depending on how things are going agony-wise (i.e. my poor right foot).  Today’s goal was simply to persevere and get ‘er done without focusing too much on pace, cadence, heart rate, or anything else; just a down and dirty LSD all the way.  I am trying then to keep myself focused not on what run fitness I have lost but, rather, the fitness I have yet to regain and have the faith that it will return.  In two to three months time, I will rerun this route once more at a more steady race pace to gauge my improvement.  This I vow.

In the meantime, I’m simply pleased I got it done and now to head out for some last minute Christmas shopping, groceries and whatever other mind-numbing errands I’ve committed to doing for the rest of the afternoon with the squeeze.  Maybe I should just head back out now for another run…

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Long and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

