Reminescing (Phase 1)

It all started innocently enough with me trying to find a single photograph to post to my Facebook page.  Easy right?  Yeah, well, with me nothing is ever that simple it seems.  Before you know it I’m knee-deep in 42 years of memories and keep sakes in my “Man Trunk”; I might even have a small hoarding problem.  Among the uncovered treasures are decades worth of posters, billfolds, photos and assorted crap including a “Jesus Loves Me” ball and paddle game.  I mean, seriously…WTF?  Maybe I felt like I needed a project, or maybe I had a desire to start putting some order to my life, I dunno really.  Like I said, it all started out innocently enough…four hours ago.

Anyway, it only occurred to me about an hour ago that, hey, perhaps I should put some tunes on.  So I opted for something equally random with the 1967 ‘Dear Eloise, King Midas In Reverse’  album by the Hollies.  I guess I’m still on a bit of a Graham Nash kick.

r-1583550-1284797995-jpeg

With Nash chafing at the bit for pop respectability, the Hollies started getting “heavy” and “relevant” on this 1967 outing, their second full-blown psychedelic album of the year. It was already clear, if not stated overtly, that Nash would be on his way out of the lineup sooner rather than later, and the irony was that the group generated some of its strongest album tracks during this period, representing some of the most inventive original compositions in its history. Their take on psychedelic music remained rooted within a pop context, especially in America, where the ‘Butterfly‘  album was stripped of three of its spacier songs – ‘Pegasus‘, ‘Try It‘, and ‘Elevated Observations‘ – and gained the contemporary awesome single ‘King Midas in Reverse‘; the latter represented perhaps their best work in a psychedelic vein, and it was nowhere near as ambitious as the Beatles’ ‘Strawberry Fields Forever‘, much less, say, ‘Tomorrow Never Knows‘.  ‘Dear Eloise‘ opened the U.K. and U.S. versions of the album, all glowing harmonies and a few tape tricks and tempo shifts around Moon/June lyrics, with the flute- and trumpet-accompanied pop ballad ‘Away Away Away‘ nudging listeners into a more upbeat mode.

Oh shit...

Oh shit…

I go on and on here, but I still have a mountain of family history to wade through, not to mention decades of family photos to rediscover.  The good news is that my friends can all look forward to lots of random ‘Throwback Thursday‘ photos on Facebook for, like, centuries to come. The bad news is that, well, I’ll probably be in most of them.

Sucks to be you.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Other and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

