Wasting Away (and Digesting) in Office Hell

It’s Friday – a pay day Friday to boot – and our office decided to visit the All-U-Can Eat buffet at Mandarin.  What this all equates to is that very little is currently being accomplished.  It’s all I can do but not unbutton my pants, curl up in the fetal under my desk and take a little nap…like, a six hour kind of nap.  But I still have to make light of the situation by trying to get something accomplished this afternoon, so I may as well make the best of it with some heady tunes.  Yes, I used the word ‘heady’.  Yesterday, I was loading up tonight’s weights soundtrack onto my iPod and I totally discovered that The Flaming Lips had released a tribute album recreating the Stone Roses 1989 debut album in it’s entirety called ‘The Time Has Come To Shoot you Down…What a Sound‘.

5035072

Holy shit!

The fuck?!

How did this slip past my radar and why has no one ever bothered to mention this to me?  Give your head a shake…I’m disappointed in you.

Seriously!

So I tried to rectify this by trying to find the album for download somewhere so I could listen to it but I couldn’t find it, like, anywhere.  Not on Kickass Torrents, not on Freeplay, not on Amazon…not anywhere.  It turns out that it was an extremely limited release for the Black Friday installment of Record Store Day  last year, and one of the most sought-after titles to boot.  In fact, only 500 multi-colored copies (each copy of the album is reportedly a unique, one-of-a-kind design) were ever made so unless you have nearly $450 to drop on purchasing yourself a copy on Ebay, you’re screwed.  Seriously screwed.  Fortunately, some unscrupulous bastard has uploaded the whole thing to YouTube – the version of which I am listening to now.

The Lips themselves didn’t even appear to have ever formally announced the release on their website, and you will be hard pressed to find any information about it at all. I did discover that the ‘fwends’ enlisted for this project alongside the Lips include Stardeath, the White Dwarfs, Spaceface, Depth and Current, Def Rain, Polica, Peaking Lights, and Jonathan Rado from Foxygen.  As per Lips fashion, the album isn’t so much covered as it is ripped apart at the seams and completely stitched back together to create an entirely different creation.  It hard to describe any of it.  It’s like a bad drug trip combined with the effects of eating bad sausage; strange, sickening yet oh, so incredibly delicious.

But don’t take my word for it, check it out for yourself:

There.  So in case your friends have similarly let you down as well, just remember who loves you.  Yeah, me.  That’s who.  Enjoy.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Other and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

