Grillin’ and Chillin’

Some friends of mine (Lance & Amy) have a weekly tradition called “Vinyl Sunday” dedicated to all things vinyl (preferably of the musical variety, but what they get up to in their intimate lives is none of my business).  Soon I hope to be hosting my own Vinyl Sunday tradition (the musical kind of course) and I’ve even been stocking up on some new acquisitions lately in anticipation of that in the near future, but those new purchases will just have to wait a while longer before they grace the pages of this blog (i.e I upgrade my current turntable).  As it goes today, I’m here alone prepping for a family BBQ later so I’m making the most of it with some tunes; may as well be the vinyl kind, albeit an older offering like the ‘Triumvirate‘  album by Bloomfield, Hammond & Dr. John from 1973 on Columbia Records.

I originally came by this album years and years ago while browsing through some milk cartons crammed with dusty records at a flea market somewhere and, low and behold, there it was.  I had mo idea that these three guys made an album together, but I knew of and loved all three individually so I didn’t need much convincing to take it home with me.  Of course, I think I paid about $2.00 in total for it so, yeah, it was a no-brainer.  Anyway, I played it once before my record player at the time crapped out so I ended up ordering a digital CD version of it and, well, let’s just say it didn’t have the same luster and hasn’t left the CD shelf in quite some time as I much more prefer the unpolished sound of vinyl, just as I’m enjoying it this afternoon.

I’m sure there’s a story on how these three were brought together (in fact there is, click HERE) but, that aside, this was still one of my first vinyl acquisitions that I truly loved.  I still do.  I do recognize that most people will consider this album lame in comparison with anything either of the musicians have released separately but I don’t care.  I have some find memories of this album, beginning with the opening chorus of ‘ Cha-Dooky-Doo‘  the opening track.  From there, there’s some Dr. John originals and after that and a few decent covers of B.B. King (‘Rock Me Baby‘), John Lee Hooker (‘Ground Hog Blues‘) and Willie Dixon (‘Pretty Thing’).  In short, I don’t care what the critics say as I think the album is pretty sweet…every last snap, crackle and pop of it.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

