Core/Stretching

It’s time for the kid to begin her swimming lessons again after taking the summer off, so I’m using the opportunity to stretch out my stiff Achilles and do some light core work.  I am racing the Incredouble Triathlon this coming weekend so I am definitely in damage control mode, so it’s easy-does-it this evening.  Nothing crazy.  Part of that easy-does-it mentality this evening then is my listening to the ‘Things That Fly‘  album by the Infamous Stringdusters.

things-that-fly-the-infamous-stringdusters-audio-cd

The Infamous Stringdusters are an acoustic Bluegrass ensemble out of Boston, MA and then later in Nashville, TN.  They won three awards at the International Bluegrass Music Association Awards Ceremony in October 2007: Emerging Artist of the Year, Album of the Year for ‘Fork in the Road’ (in a tie with J.D. Crowe & the New South’s album ‘Lefty’s Old Guitar’), and Song of the Year for the album’s title cut.  The band was also nominated for 2011 Entertainer of the Year by the International Bluegrass Music Association.  This is their 3rd studio album released in 2010 on the Sugar Hill Records label, two years after I first became aware of them when I happened upon them playing in the hot and dusty Dance Tent at the Greyfox Bluegrass Festival.  I was probably three sheets to the wind and higher than kite at the time, but I remember enjoying them immensely.

Things That Fly’  has been described as another example of the band’s ever-evolving sound and a showcase of each member’s individual talents through tracks such as ‘All The Same’, ‘Those Who’ve Gone On‘, and ‘The Deputy‘.  The album also includes a bluegrass remake of the U2 single ‘In God’s Country‘  and peaked to #2 on Billboard’s Bluegrass chart.  The ‘Magic No. 9‘ track was even nominated for a 2011 Grammy award for “Best Country Instrumental.  So all accolades aside, it’s a very good album.

Now, hopefully my Achilles likes it too.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Gym and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

