Easy Run (7k)

With the Incredouble Triathlon weekend quickly approaching I’ve only now begun to develop some issues with the Achilles tendon lately so this is only the second run that I’ve been able to manage in about as many weeks.  So it was with extreme trepidation that I headed out for this short and easy 7k run (well, it was more of a 6 x 1k run w/ 200m walking recovery intervals really) down the Friendship Trail this afternoon.  Fortunately though, the humidity of last week has broken so the weather is pretty nice actually and I even have some old tunes queued up for the occasion that will hopefully take my mind off the lingering numbness in my left foot.  With all that in mind, today’s musical soundtrack is the self-titled Max Q album dating back to 1989.

max-q-max-q

I had this album back in high school, lost it somewhere down the line, and then recently reacquired through the magic of bittorrents.  Needless to say I have some fond memories of this album and I had hoped that that appreciation would still hold over today but, alas, it didn’t.  I mean, it wasn’t totally shitty or anything but it still didn’t have that original hutzpah it had back in Grade 13; but more on that in a minute.

Max Q was an Australian late 80’s collaboration between Michael Hutchence of INXS and Ollie Olsen (Whirlyworld, ‘Dogs in Space’  soundtrack), as well as key members of the post-punk scene in Melbourne, Australia playing largely electronic music bordering on a puke meets disco/house kind of vibe.  While the project was named after Ollie Olsen’s dog Max,  “Max Q” is also an aerospace term referring to the point at which the dynamic pressure (Q) on a launch vehicle is greatest. Consequently, there is another band called Max Q which consists of astronauts assigned to the Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas.  Coincidentally, the author of the current autobiography I am reading, Chris Hatdield’s ‘Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth‘, was a member of this band.

Songs I instantly recall from the good ‘ol days include ‘Sometimes‘, ‘Ghost of the Year‘ and ‘Zero-2-0‘, which I used to end all my mixed cassettes with.  More than anything I remember the “whether it’s God or the bomb it’s just the same it’s only fear under another name” lyric from ‘Way of the World‘ which, at the time, I found to be rather poignant for whatever reason.  Now?  Well, maybe.  I guess.

Anyhow, I had hoped that I would instantly fall back in love with this album.  But it turned out to be more of the love that you might have for say, the first girl that ever broke your heart.  You still kinda have feelings for her but you still hate the bitch and listening to this album wasn’t much different.  Still, it was fun…maybe.  I guess.  My Achilles felt okay however while still being a bit stiff so I’m hoping that that’s a good sign anyway.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Easy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

