Flight 2698 from Charlotte to San Antonio

I had exactly 45 minutes at the Charlotte-Douglas Airport to scarf done one ‘Sam I Am’ burger from Bad Daddy’s Burger Bar before I had to make this connection to San Antonio.  That may or may not have been the greatest idea since a burger topped with rosemary ham, pesto and a fried egg (never mind the butt load of tater tots it came with) could end up as the catalyst for the next great airline disaster when my bowels explode at  18,000 ft.  Thankfully, I have some more easy-going Texas blues to soothe my angry insides, namely the awesome Leadbelly ‘Sings Folk Songs‘  album.

leadbellysingsfolksongs530205

Blues giant Leadbelly was originally born Huddy William Ledbetter in 1888 in Mooringsport, Louisiana but his family later settled in Bowie County, Texas. Similar to Lightnin’ Hopkins, he wrote songs about angry women, alcohol, prison life (having spent 3 terms in prison for carrying a pistol and murder while fighting over a women – go figure), racism, cowboys, cattle, etc.  How Leadbelly actually acquired his popular moniker is open to debate.  Most likely it was earned in prison and rumors include it was a tribute to his toughness after being stabbed in the neck or shot in the stomach with buckshot, which, are definitely two viable options of mine if the guy beside me doesn’t stop snapping his gum.  Some maintain it was due to his ability to drink moonshine.  Another theory put forth by other notable bluesman Big Bill Broonzy holds that it came from a supposed tendency to lay about as if “with a stomach weighed down with lead”  in the shade when the chain gang was supposed to be working (a strategy I might adopt myself if the temperatures are as hot in San Antonio as I’ve heard).  Some just say it’s a corruption of his surname pronounced with a Southern accent.

Exactly one hundred years later in 1988, Leadbelly was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in the “Early Influence” category and many of his songs have now been added to the Library of Congress.  This particular album contains v

I can help but wonder what Leadbelly might have thought had he known back then that these songs would be later enjoyed by a jet-setting, white, fat guy from Canada?

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

