Dinner

I made my postponed swim workout this morning (3.2k) so this evening, and seeing as how it looks like rain anyway, I’m staying indoors to spend some quality time with the kid watching more Megalodon on the Discovery Channel; it makes her happy, what can I say?  First, though, comes the dinner that mommy set out for us in the crock pot.  So while I prepare and organize the rice and veg to go with it and the kid is having her bath (‘Super Dad’ mode…ACTIVATED!) – I finally get a few minutes to myself.  And I’m choosing to enjoy these precious few minutes with an old friend, the ‘Blonde on Blonde‘  album by Bob Dylan.

Like most Dylan releases, this album is chalked full of accolades: #9 on the Billboard 200 chart in the USA, where it eventually went double-platinum, and reached #3 in the UK. It spawned two singles that were top twenty hits in the USA: ‘Rainy Day Women #12 & 35′  and ‘I Want You’. Two further songs, ‘Just Like a Woman’  and ‘Visions of Johanna’, have been described as among Dylan’s greatest compositions and were featured in Rolling Stones 500 Greatest Songs of All Time list.  My Bible (Mojo, August 1995), ranks it at #8.

‘Blonde on Blonde’  is the seventh studio album by Dylan, released on May 16, 1966 on Columbia Records. Recording sessions began in New York in October 1965 with numerous backing musicians, including members of Dylan’s live backing band, The Hawks. Though sessions continued until January 1966, they yielded only one track that made it onto the final album – ‘One of Us Must Know (Sooner or Later)‘. At producer suggestion, Dylan, keyboardist Al Kooper, and guitarist Robbie Robertson moved to the CBS studios in Nashville, Tennessee. These sessions, augmented by some of Nashville’s top session musicians, were more fruitful, and in February and March all the remaining songs for the album were recorded.  It completed the trilogy of rock albums that Dylan recorded in 1965 and 1966, starting with ‘Bringing It All Back Home’  and ‘Highway 61 Revisited’; it was one of the first double albums in rock history.

The real bonus this evening is that the kid even seemed to enjoy it as well (particularly the Salvation Army-style feel to ‘Rainy Day Women‘).  I could hear her singing and humming along in the bathtub behind closed door.  Okay, so I listen to my Dylan a little loud.  Sue me.  Anyway, lately the kid has been enjoying more and more of my music, specifically the “hippie stuff”; perhaps my influence and ‘subtle schooling‘ (or ‘musical brain-washing’ as it were) is finally starting to pay off a bit.

Sure she still digs her Katie Perry from time to time, but now she can also distinguish a few tastefully classic rock icons by their sound…Dylan’s nasally voice being one of them.    There could be worse things in life.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Relaxing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

