Game Night

My family doesn’t like to play Uno so much as we like to play ‘Screw Terry’ where the point of the game is to gang up on me and feed me as many ‘pick up’ cards as possible until I begin to look like Sally Rand behind my handful of cards.  What they don’t know is that I’m old school at this game given I’ve been playing ‘Screw Terry’ with Life for like, only, ever; with the real ‘motion’ being my kicking some serious Uno ass.  That’s right, how do you like me now?

Anyway, tonight’s soundtrack for a rousing evening of family time is only, like, the best album ever recorded, like, ever. Seriously.  Bob Dylan’s ‘Blood on the Tracks‘.  Yup, Uno, Dylan, and ass-kicking…it don’t get no better than this.

As well as being in my Top 5 Desert Island picks, this album also contains three of the best songs put to paper, like, eehver: ‘Tangled Up In Blue‘, ‘Lily, Rosemary & The Jack of Hearts‘, and ‘Shelter of the Storm‘ (pretty much the greatest love song ever recorded).  And that’s a pretty bold statement considering there’s not a bum track of the whole freakin’ album.  In fact, you cold ask ten random people to give you three favorite songs from the album and you’re likely to get different responses every time.  It’s that fucking good!

Here’s the run down:  The album reached #1 on the Billboard 200 charts and #4 on the UK Albums Chart. The single ‘Tangled Up in Blue’  peaked at #31 on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart. The album remains one of Dylan’s best-selling studio releases, with a double-platinum US certification by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA).  In 2003, the album was ranked #16 on Rolling Stone‘s list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time, and in 2004,it was placed at #5 on Pitchfork Media‘s list of the Top 100 Albums of the 1970’s.  My own Bible (Mojo, August 1995) ranks it at #39 in it’s list of Top 100 Albums Ever Made.  Shit, I’m pretty sure God himself puts it on whenever he’s just bumming around the pad, knowwhatimsayin?

But fuck all that.  There’s one huge advantage to this album that I didn’t previously already know about it:  the child likes it!  It’s true.  She even said it herself as she bopped her head along in time and shimmy-shaked her shoulders in true hippie-fashion over on her side of the dining room table: “This is good music”.

Umm, fucking-A it is!  That’s Bob-fucking-Dylan!  (of course, what I probably really said was “…*sigh*…I can’t go”, but I digress).  But that was my intended sentiment anyway. This album is why God invented music.

Saints be praised.  The kid likes it.  Take that Katie Perry!

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Relaxing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

