Long Run (15k)

I’ve dropped the child off at her birthday party, so that gives me exactly two and a half hours to slip in this wet and sloppy 15k (@ 5:11 min/km) run and, maybe, enjoy a little time in front of the Tour de France afterwards before I need to pick the kid up and resume ‘Dad Duty’ for the rest of the day.  For this long, damp run today, I’ve queued up something special, namely this bootleg ‘Quadrophenia‘  concert by Phish.

Quadrophenia

Otherwise known as the ‘Live Phish Vol. 14‘  album, this performance was recorded live at the Rosemont Horizon (now the Allstate Arena) in Rosemont, Illinois, on Halloween night, 1995.  It marks the second of five Halloween shows in which the band dressed up in a “musical costume” by performing an album from another artist in its entirety. The band, along with a horn section, unveiled a complete performance of The Who’s ‘Quadrophenia’, led by keyboardist Page McConnell, sandwiched in between two sets of Phish’s own music. During their performance of ‘Harpua‘  Trey Anastasio told the story of Jimmy listening to his favorite album, which happened to be “the very same album that Phish was playing as their Halloween album at Rosemont Horizon that night.”  At which point they broke into a brief segment of Michael Jackson’s ‘Beat It‘, which led to fans believing they were going to play ‘Thriller‘.  At the end of the show, the band encored with ‘My Generation‘  and destroyed their instruments just like The Who had done thirty years earlier and not unlike the way I was destroying the pavement along Michener Rd. trying to keep a 4:45 min/km pace into the driving wind and rain.

Also of note is the short but intense version of ‘Drowned’, whose water theme was prefect for providing the right motivation for a decent push through the driving rain through Crystal Beach along Elmwood and Derby Road’s.  Too boot, there was also the sweet versions of ‘Free’, the crunchy ‘Ya Mar> Sparkle‘ segue, and ZZ Top’s ‘Jesus Just Left Chicago‘  whose sullen guitar and hot sax riffs were rather well suited for a short warm down walk at the end.

As unfun (or, ‘fun’ if you happen to be as bat shit crazy as I apparently am) as it sounds, it was the perfect mental toughness training day that I have been neglecting lately.   Okay, time to shave, shit and shower as I have to get back on with my day.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Long and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

