Functional Strength/Core

I learning to love these impromptu, albeit short lived, afternoon workouts between appointments at the funeral home, the bank, the lawyers and every-bloody place else.  So usually I have 90 minutes or so to kill in the pool, in the weight room or, as I did today, on the mat doing my functional strength and core shit.

Today’s inspiration came to me rather oddly.  The other day, Kelly was listening to some 80’s playlist on her Grooveshark account and ‘Been Caught Stealing‘  by Jane’s Addiction came on and it immediately garnered a few raised eyebrows in Kelly’s direction for a change.  I was never a huge fan of the band, or the album that spawned that particular monster hit, ‘Ritual de lo Habitual‘.  No, I was more a fan – if anything – of the album released two years before in 1988 on Warner Bros. Records, the ‘Nothing’s Shocking‘  album (their 2nd release, but 1st official album); today’s listening choice du jour.

mi0002215536

The album was well received by critics upon release and is often cited as the band’s best album (a notion I fully agree with and endorse).  Despite this, it only peaked at #103 on the Billboard 200. The single terribly overplayed hit song from the album, ‘Jane Says‘, reached #6 on the Billboard  Modern Rock Tracks in 1988. The album was ranked #312 on Rolling Stone’s 500 Greatest Albums of All-Time.  And, for whatever reason, it’s featuring two sets of naked boobies (4 naked boobs in total) on the front cover is also mention-worthy.  I’m truly a unique and beautiful snowflake, what can I say?

Produced by Dave Jerden and band vocalist Perry Farrell, the album was more focused and packed more of a sonic wallop than its predecessor; the fiery performances often create an amazing sense that it could all fall apart at any second, creating a fantastic musical tension. Such tracks as ‘Up the Beach‘, ‘Ocean Size‘, and one of alt-rock’s greatest anthems, ‘Mountain Song‘, contain the spaciousness created by the band’s two biggest influences, Led Zeppelin and the Cure (how’s that for a one-two punch?). Elsewhere, ‘Ted, Just Admit It…‘ (about serial killer Ted Bundy) and the haunting yet gorgeous ‘Summertime Rolls‘  stretched to epic proportions, making great use of changing moods and dynamics (something most alt-rock bands of the time were oblivious to). An incredibly consistent and challenging album, other highlights included the rockers ‘Had a Dad‘ and ‘Pigs in Zen‘, the horn-driven ‘Idiots Rule‘, the jazz instrumental ‘Thank You Boys‘, and the up-tempo ‘Standing in the Shower…Thinking‘.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Gym and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Functional Strength/Core

  1. Kelly says:

    I’m anything but predictable when it comes to what I listen to ! You should know that !
    And the way you describe “Summertime Rolls” makes me really want to check it out !

Leave a Reply

