Relaxing (Part 1)

Today marks the one year anniversary for this blog, so Happy Birthday to me!  It’s also Canada Day but, truthfully, I’m not feeling very festive.  I wanted one more day off the grid avoiding everybody and everything before it’s back to business tomorrow sorting out funeral arrangements, dealing with bank crap, etc.  So after a leisurely breakfast here in town I spent the afternoon out scouting and exploring on my bike for 55k worth of back roads between Welland, Port Colborne, Bethel and Stevensville.  Then it was time to grill up some burgers on the BBQ before cracking a few Canadian brews on the back porch with my book about the Montreal Expos, ‘Up, Up & Away‘  by Jonah Keri.  Shit, throw in a beaver and you have the ideal Canada Day celebration as I see it today. Of course, to be thorough I need some Canadian tunes to set the right ambiance, something like the first eponymous album by the Skydiggers.

This was the album that started it all for the little band from Toronto (or ‘Tor-anha‘, ‘Tron-toh‘, or ‘Ter-onna‘ if you prefer) largely thanks to the hit single ‘I Will Give You Everything‘.  I remember this album fondly while swimming in a hammock somewhere on a lake in Northern Ontario; beer in one hand, joint in the other.  A similar memory for many Canadians I recon.  Of course, there is lots more to this album than it’s primary hit.

The recipe for a perfect Canada Day holiday

The recipe for a perfect Canada Day holiday

From start to finish it’s pure Canadiana at it’s finest and I can think of no better album to kick off the holiday back porch festivities this evening.  Other great tunes off this album include ‘Maybe It’s Not Good Enough‘, ‘We Don’t Talk Much Anymore‘, ‘Too Bad You Say It’s Over’, and ‘No One Could’.  Yet, despite these amazing songs the album largely goes forgotten now even by the more diehard Skydigger fans who will likely name ‘Restless‘ or ‘Road Radio‘  as the better album.

Me?  I’ll stick with the original thanks.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Relaxing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

