Relaxing

Okay, okay, I know this is stretching it a bit but after my inaugural triathlon of the season this morning in Binbrook, the only motion I’m willing to engage at this precise moment is hoisting a beer to my lips and maybe the the casual flipping of pages in my book (‘I Wear the Black Hat‘  by Chuck Klosterman) while I relax in a lawn chair and soaking up the remaining rays of a fading sun.  Sue me.

Hey, it’s been a good day with plenty of motion already.  I set a new personal best at the Sprint distance complete with a good swim and decent bike (I’m still not satisfied with my run although it was also decent), and now I’m enjoying the peace and quiet of my backyard and, later, I’ll have a peaceful picnic down by the beach with my sweetie.  So, yeah, life is good.  I had better enjoy this downtime as well as tomorrow, there will lots of motion beginning bright and early…namely, 300 excited kids ages 6-15 at the Ontario Season Kick Off Day for the SunRype TRi KiDS program in Burlington.  Oi vay.  Yup, enjoy these quiet minutes I will.  And to help enjoy them I chose an old (and appropriate) favorite, the ‘Birdy‘  soundtrack by Peter Gabriel.

 

r-1307561-1438864431-3044-jpeg

‘Birdy’  is the first soundtrack (his 6th album) by musician Peter Gabriel, for the Alan Parker movie of the same name about a disturbed Vietnam vet who thinks he can fly, released in 1985 and then remastered and re-released in 2002 (this is the copy I’m listening to today).   It’s probably the most atypical album in Gabriel’s entire catalog but, then again, it’s so Gabriel at the same time.  This moody and evocative album marked Gabriel’s first work with producer Daniel Lanois.

In addition to composing new pieces for the soundtrack, Gabriel also used instrumental themes and sections from earlier works (largely from 1982’s ‘Security‘ recordings) to form the basis of some tracks. There were, however, no songs with lyrics on the album so it has a more meditative quality to it, which, today – in this moment – is simply perfect.  I should probably be doing yoga or something, but drinking beer with my feet up is cool too.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Relaxing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

