Drills/Easy Run (7k)

It’s my first time out running since this past weekend’s Around the Bay 30k event and, while the weather has been cooperating somewhat (by ‘cooperating’, I mean not dumping more of the white shit) this week, it’s still pretty damp drizzly out today.  Frig.  Oh well, since I have about a kabillion things to accomplish today including changing rental cars, visiting the bank, getting some papers notarized, signing over my wrecked vehicle with the insurance company, visit the Superstore and God knows what else, I’m just going to have to suck it up an head out anyway.  Shit, this run might just be the only thing I get to do today, so I better make it count.  I’ve queued up then something easy-going and, hopefully, fun for this morning’s easy 7k drill run, namely the ‘3:47 EST’  album by the Canadian rock group Klaatu.

When this album was released in 1976, rumor circulated that it was in fact, a secret regrouping of the Beatles given it’s the same kind of Beatlesque psychedelic rock (in the style of ‘Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band’ and ‘Magical Mystery Tour’), with a few new additions; most notably vocal distortion, more backwards instruments, and some obscure musical instruments such as electric sitars. But, alas, no, it was just a bunch of guys from the Great White North, eh. Klaatu’s music has been described as progressive rock, space rock, and psychedelic pop. They also add elements of other genres such as baroque pop, symphonic rock, art rock, and power pop. So, yeah, it…well…pops, I guess. The abnd and album takes its name from the 1951 Michael Rennie science fiction film ‘The Day the Earth Stood Still’, where the alien emissary Klaatu arrives in Washington, D.C. at precisely 3:47 in the afternoon Eastern Standard Time.

Standouts from the album include the dreamy ‘Calling Occupants (of Interplanetary Craft)‘ which, I might add, I first discovered on a drug-addled night in my dorm room long ago, and ‘Sub-Rosa Subway’ which received some minor noise when it peaked at #62 on the Billboard charts in 1977.  Of course, there is also ‘California Jam‘, ‘Anus from Uranus‘, the trippy ‘Little Neutrino‘, and the ridiculously catchy ‘Sir Bodsworth Rugglesby III‘ which is totally out of the Muppets playbook.  So, despite the drizzle, it was actually a really fun run all set to a rather pleasant, dreamy Opera-like soundtrack.

Okay, time to get shit done.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Easy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

