Stretch

Well, apparently, spring is technically here, but it’s snowing out.  Yeah.  Suck, right?  Good thing then that todays’ only scheduled workout is my Masters Spin class minus the Brick afterwards, so the only ‘outside’ I really have to deal with is the few seconds from my front door to the truck, and then again from my truck to the gym.  Thank God.  I did, however, arrive to the gym a little early.  Not enough to time to squeeze in any workout, but just enough time to maybe do another “be like crashing wave”  stretch prior to mounting the bike.  Thankfully, I have a little sumthing-sumthing already queued up that I can listen to, namely the ‘Who Do You Love?’ single by the English group Mohave 3.

500x500

No, this isn’t some George Thurogood knockoff – believe me.

Mohave 3 consists of band members Neil Halstead, Rachel Goswell, Simon Rowe, Alan Forrester, and Ian McCutcheon.  The band rose like a phoenix with the first three members (Halstead, Goswell and McCutheon) when their original band Slowdive, were dropped by Creation Records.  The trio decided to change musical direction to more of a dream pop/country rock/folk music style and were later signed to 4AD Records.  Shortly afterwards, the band took on its extra members (Rowe was originally with another U.K. band Chapterhouse).  This is the single for the first release (‘Who Do you Love?‘) off their second album ‘Out of Tune’, released in October of 1998.  In addition, it has three B-sides (minus the demo version of the title track which I ignored) which are the perfect slow moving, soothing, wavelike melody for this otherwise ridiculous-looking ‘lower body matrix’ routine.  Oh well, ridiculousness aside, whatever doesn’t kill you, right?

Anyway, for the 15 or so odd moments I rolled and crashed and stretched, I reflected back approximately 20 years ago to actually getting to see Mohave 3 play in a little bar in Camden Town, London (U.K.).  I had no idea who they were at the time as I was drunk as a skunk but I really enjoyed them.  Fast forward two decades and I’m getting reunited with some of those songs from that night (which also happen to be on this particular single:  ‘This Road I’m Traveling‘, and ‘Between Us‘) while doing weird wavelike movements on a foam mat while wearing stretchy cycle shorts in front of God and everybody.  It’s too bizarre to really contemplate.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Other and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

