Functional Strength/Core

I’ve been cooped up indoors all day with nary a workout or opportunity to otherwise smell the roses as it were, and “all work and no play make Jack a dull boy” after all.  Not that a functional strength and core set can be considered as ‘play’, but it’s the best I’m going to get today.  What it does do though is give me a chance to chill out and decompress on my mat through a quick 30 minute series of crunches, planks, clams, squats, “bird dogs”, push-ups, etc.; my usual assortment of girly Pilates moves.  Plus, I get to check out a new album like the ‘Oh My God, Charlie Darwin!’  album by the Low Anthem.  Hey, how can you not love an album with that title?

l_d18b6ed27d494d888e0cdde986aabcde

The Low Anthem is an indie folk band from Providence, Rhode Island, originally formed in 2006. The band consists of Ben Knox Miller (vocals, guitar), Jeff Prystowsky (drums, vocals, double bass), Mike Irwin (bass, trumpet, guitar), Tyler Osborne (guitar, bass) and Florence Wallis (vocals, violin).  They self-released two studio albums before the release of this album in 2008 (later re-released in 2009 on Nonesuch Records and Bella Union labels) which serves to significantly increase their fan base.  And good thing to as it’s pretty sweet. It’s gentle and soothing despite it supposedly being about environmental decay and social de-evolution and the death of morality.  Miller’s himself, claims that the album is like “listening to the record is akin to taking shelter during a lightning storm among nostalgic remnants in a water-damaged church, whose new tenants – rats, owls, stray dogs and snakes – comprise a burgeoning, cacophonous, dog-eat-dog ecosystem”.  Umm, okay

I didn’t get any of that but so for my purposes it’s catchy rhythms and multi-textured pop chords provided everything I needed today prior to stepping into the torture chamber that is my Masters Spin class.  So even if the world is going to hell in a hand basket, I couldn’t give two fig newtons.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Gym and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

