Drills/Easy Run (8.25k)

‘Ol Thunder n’ Lightning have recovered quite well since this weekend’s painful 30k jaunt so I should probably be doing a speed workout of some kind, but I don’t want to push things too quickly so I’m opting for an easy 8.25k drill run instead.  The weather is pleasantly warm as opposed to ridiculously frigid, there’s no wind and, hey, not snowing a shit ton of white crap is a bonus too in my books so I may as well enjoy it as I’m sure it won’t last for long.  Any day I don’t have to run with a winter jacket at this point is a gift from God that I don’t want to waste, so I chose something then that reflects that easy-does-it mentality today, an old favorite, the ‘I Want to See the Bright Lights Tonight’  album by husband and wife duo, Richard and Linda Thompson.

This album, actually the second album released by Richard Thompson (yes, the same dude who did the Grizzly Man soundtrack) but the first (of six) to include and be credited with his then wife, Linda Thompson, was released by Island Records in the UK in March, 1974.  Although never commercially successful and critically ignored on its release, it is now considered to be a masterpiece and one of the finest works of both Richard and Linda singularly or together.  The album has been included on Rolling Stone  magazine’s list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time; my own Bible (Mojo, August 1995) credits it at #70. The album is decidedly dark with themes of murder, death, supernatural mumbo-jumbo and industrial grit.  Shit, just look at the album cover.  Not something you might expect from a “folk duet”, or even from a former member of Fairport Convention, is it (although those Celtic-slash-Medieval influences are still there)?  No, it’s kind of…scary.  But in its savagery there are also great moments of beauty and contemplation, which is exactly what I enjoy on these easy jogs.  Track s like ‘Cavalry Cross’, ‘Down Where the Drunkards Roll’, and the title track ‘I Want to See the Bright Lights Tonight’  are great tunes to amble along country roads to.

So while I still have to make up one speed workout this week, at least I’ve gotten this melancholy out of my system today so come time I can give ‘er once again.  Hopefully, this weather will stick around to boot.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Easy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

