Functional Strength/Core

The girlfriend has another ladies night out tonight, which leaves me and the child to fend for ourselves…uh-gain.  But, hey, it’s not such a bad thing.  We’re just talking about a little hot chocolate and  ‘Good Luck Charlie‘ before bedtime here but, first, we hit the gym; she to her ‘Kids Club’ and I to my mat for a functional strength and core workout.  It’s an ideal evening actually; particularly when you add Jackie Greene’s ‘American Myth‘  album to the mix.

500x5001

I had never heard of Jackie Greene prior to seeing him perform as part of ‘Phil & Friends’ tour back in 2007.  This album was released the previous year (2006) and what ultimately served – apparently – to put him on Phil’s radar.  And for good reason too since it smokes.

Originally from Salinas, California, Jackie began to play guitar at age 14 and within a short time, was able to sit in with local bar bands. As he got older, he began composing his own songs that he recorded in a makeshift garage studio, burning his own CD’s and then selling them everywhere he could; a real American Troubadour in the finest sense.  Later he would tour nationally with the likes of Gov’t Mule, Los Lobos, Mark Knopfler, B.B. King, Phil Lesh, Ratdog, Huey Lewis, Susan Tedeschi, Taj Mahal, and Buddy Guy while playing more music festivals than you could shake a stick at.  That’s quite the diverse and impressive touring resume, wouldn’t you say?

American Myth‘ is Jackie’s fourth album, yet only his first endeavor with an actual backing band that includes Davey Faragher and Pete Thomas (of Elvis Costello’s band The Impostors), guitarist Val McCallum and an entire horn section. Oh, did I mention it was produced by Steve Berlin (of Los Lobos)?  Yeah, what this all awesomeness means is that it’s a pretty nifty listen with great tunes like ‘Hollywood‘, ‘So Hard to Find My Way‘, ‘I’m So Gone’, ‘Cold Black Devil/14 Miles‘, and ‘So Long, Farewell, Goodbye‘.  More than enough to provide ample motivation through your sets of planks, push-ups, pull down’s, planks, squats and crunches.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Gym and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Functional Strength/Core

  1. Kelly says:

    You make it sound like I go out all the time lol.
    It’s not nice to embellish the truth !
    I’m affording you the opportunity to further bond with HRH while maintaining my own sanity periodically 😉

Leave a Reply

