2 x Drills/Easy Run (6.75k)

Today’s agenda is another triple-duty day including the make-up swim I bunked off yesterday, a planned short functional strength and weights workout later, and this run this afternoon.  It’s been a pretty good week running-wise, thankfully this run is only an easy 6.75k drill run, so it’s more an opportunity to get outside and, hopefully, not drown in the resulting swampland from last night’s rainstorm and consequential flooding.  Thankfully, the rains have let up but, still, there’s enough water on the ground now to make even Moses more than a little apprehensive.  Seriously, I’m considering building an ark and collecting all the local indigenous animals by the two’s.  Anyway, today’s musical soundtrack was another album by Beck, specifically the ‘Information’  album.

‘The Information’  is the tenth studio album for Beck released in 2006, but the recording actually began a lot earlier back in 2003, concurrently with the ‘Guero’  album sessions.   Rolling Stone has named it the 24th best album of 2006, while Spin magazine ranked it #10 on their 40 Best Albums of 2006.  The album reached #7 on the US Billboard 200, #6 in Canada and #31 on Australia’s ARIA Chart.

All accolades aside, this isn’t my favorite outing for Beck.  But while it doesn’t have the catchy punch of ‘Mellow Gold‘, it’s still a, well, let’s say ‘interesting’ listen.  It’s unique in that there doesn’t seem to be any real flow to the album at all.  It’s disjointed and has a very random feel to it.  And since I don’t have any other goals for today’s run in the way of pace, time or distance, that’s okay with me.  There are still some stellar offerings here though, like the opening track ‘Elevator Music’, the sleek ‘Think I’m In Love‘, the enigmatic ‘Dark Star‘  and the totally fucked up album closer ‘The Horrible Fanfare/Landslide/Exoskeleton’.  But these only come at the expense of some pretty lame and unforgettable tracks, especially the mind-numbing ‘1000 BPM‘ (which I immediately skipped over on my iPod with all the graceful deftness of a snobby gazelle).

The real shitastic thing about today’s run was having witnessed a squirrel get totally smoked under the tires of a passing car in the last few 100m’s.  Not a great way to finish a workout, that’s for sure.  I’m sorry I didn’t have anything to put you instantly out of your misery, but if I ever see that driver again I’ll be sure to flip ’em the bird on your behalf.  R.I.P you poor, little bugger.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Easy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

