Drills/Speed Run (10k)

It looks like Mother Nature has finally given us a bone, namely, 6°C and clear.  I mean, that’s not really “warm” by the tropical definition, but when compared to the -stupid° we’ve been getting recently, not to mention the wind and snow, this is a real treat. What I’m saying is that I’ll take it…no complaint (resulting slush aside that is).  Today’s plan calls for a Speed Run, but my legs are still feeling a little mushy after Sunday’s 25k long haul so I’m playing it by ear instead; maybe just some short, infrequent pick-up’s (6 x 800m).  More of a longish fartlek really, but I’m chalking it up as a Speed Run nonetheless.  Sue me.  Anyway, today’s traveling musical companion up and down Thunder Bay Rd. for 10k is the ‘Definitely, Maybe’  album by Oasis.

0000783397

Released in my third year of university (1994) and largely themed around hanging out with mates, partying, drinking copious amounts of booze and smoking oneself into oblivion (and nowhere is this more significantly depicted than the track ‘Cigarettes and Alcohol‘), this album was pretty much our soundtrack; a staple at the bars, the dance floors, at home and on our bedroom stereos (usually at a volume that made your ears bleed).  Funny then that I’m enjoying it just as I did back then while (*gasp*) running – fast no less.  Shit, the only thing I ever ran for back then was to beat the crowd to the bar come last call.

Upon it’s release, it was an immediate commercial and critical success in the UK, having followed on the heels of hit singles ‘Supersonic’, ‘Shakermaker‘ and ‘Live Forever‘.  The album went straight to #1 in the UK Albums Charts on initial release just as it did in our hearts (outselling the second-highest album ‘The Three Tenors in Concert 1994’, which had been favored to be the chart-topper that week, by a factor of 50%).  Not bad for a bunch of egotistical twats.  It was the fastest selling debut album of all time in the UK when it was released and went on to be certified 7x Platinum (2.1 million+ sales) by the BPI.  Likewise, it marked the beginning of Oasis’ success in North America, selling over one million copies here, despite only peaking at #58 on the Billboard 200. The album has since gone on to sell over 15 million copies worldwide and brought widespread critical acclaim, not to mention inspiration to this chubby, triathlete wanna-be out on the roadways of Ridgeway.

Successes: Best Strava effort for 1/2 mile (3:27); best 2 mile effort (15:45)

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Speed and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

