Functional Strength/Core

It’s 2:30pm and I’ve just finished Round One in my ‘Battle in the Saddle’ spin-a-thon at the Energy Fitness Studio in St. Catharines.  It’s going to be a long 24 hours me thinks so I want to use my time in between spin sessions to catch up on some of the core work I’ve missed out on this week in light of everything that’s happened.  And, hey, the studio here at Energy Fitness is top notch, so I may as well take advantage of it while I can.

The real bonus today is that thanks to the marvels of modern technology I can also listen to selections from my vinyl collection on my iPod; cool, right?  It’s an opportunity to travel back in time and get lost in my workout and enjoy whatever memories might be associated with these old dusty albums.  There’s just something warm and invigorating about the random snap, crackle and pops created by a well-loved vinyl album, what can I say?  I dug one of these albums out today for my functional strength/core mat routine, specifically, Paul Simon’s ‘One Trick Pony’.

onetrickpony

With a title that derives itself from a colloquial American expression meaning a person specializing in only one area, having only one talent, or of limited ability, this 1980 album (his 5th), was released simultaneously with the film of the same name, in which Simon also starred.  Essentially the story about an aging rock star trying to put together a new album in the face of an indifferent record label and a talentless producer, it also features several top session musicians (who also appeared in the movie as the character Jonah’s backing band), including Eric Gale on lead guitar, Richard Tee on piano, Tony Levin on bass, and Steve Gadd on drums.  In short, the movie is as good as the soundtrack that supports it.  The album is best known, however, for the Grammy-nominated track ‘Late in the Evening’ which was a hit for Simon in 1980, peaking at #6 on the U.S. billboards.  The album as whole though, is not as lively as this hit track.  In fact, it’s a bit darker as the plot of a failing rock star might necessitate.  And, hey, who doesn’t love themselves a good ‘ol brooding tear-jerker of a ballad from time to time, right?  What can I say?  I’m a sucker for punishment.  My favorite of the bunch is the ‘Long, Long Day’  which concludes the album and feels fairly appropriate given today’s ambitious agenda.

So, with this set accomplished, I have another 3 x 60 minute spin sessions left and, hopefully, some weights if I can slip them in at some point to boot.  Point being, the longer I can keep myself active over the next day or so, the less time I spend in my own head obsessing and dwelling…which is a good thing.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Gym and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

