Functional Strength/Core

I guess everyone else had the same idea as me and decided to show up at the gym tonight.  Yes, it was meatheads galore this evening; glistening muscles and ripe body odor as far as the eye (and nose) could see.  I had originally hoped that everyone would still be laid up with ‘Post Blizzard Syndrome‘  – PBS for short – and simply stayed home.  But, apparently, I was wrong.  Very wrong.  Everyone and their brother is here.  It’s all I can do but keep someone from thieving my sweaty mat from underneath me, so I’m all guns a-blazing just trying to get through my planned functional strength and core workout as quickly as I can so I can get home again.  Anyway, I’m listening to the ‘Morning Comes’  album by Canadian alternative country rockers Cuff the Duke.

Morning Comes’  is the fifth release (October 4th, 2011) by Cuff the Duke for Paper Bag Records, and is the second album to be produced by Greg Keelor of Blue Rodeo.  Upon release, it was immediately nominated for ‘Adult Alternative Album of the Year’ at the 2012 Juno Awards, but ultimately lost out to the much-hyped Feist album ‘Metals’; a travesty of justice if you ask me.

Kelly and I more or less discovered Cuff the Duke together.  I already had prior knowledge of the band and already owned their self-title album from 2005, which upon loaning to her, I would hear about a zillion times over the next three months after she fell in head over heels in love with it.  It’s all good though, as it gave me a new appreciation for the band and an interest in seeking out other albums by the band, of which this is one.  The album was actually intended to be the first half of a two-record concept piece to be paired with their (then) upcoming 2012 album ‘Union’.  Personal favorites from this album include…ah, shit…they’re all awesome.  Who am I kidding?  From open to close it’s absolutely brilliant and has Keelor’s stamp, err, brand all over it.  I guess if I had to chose one I’d choose the mystical ‘Brightest Part of the Sun‘, or the rich sacred steel feel of ‘So Many Times Before‘, both of which would easily fit on any Blue Rodeo album.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Gym and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

