Yoga/Core

It’s been a hectic week with the holidays what with the family and whatnot, so I figure a little active yoga at the gym this afternoon might be a primo idea in order to get my limbs back functioning properly before trying to exert them again next week.  Besides, two days of family are enough to stress anyone out so I feel the need to relax my mind a bit.  And there’s no better album to relax to then with Talk Talk’s pivotal ‘Spirit of Eden’  album.

I shit you not, this album is among my Top 10 favorite albums of all time; and for good reason…it’s absolutely heavenly.  I’m talking about full blown gorgeous choruses of angels until you puke up rainbows from the sheer beauty of it all.  Rumor has it that when front man Mark Hollis played the original tape of this album, his A&R man broke into tears.  Whether or not this was because it was so intensely beautiful, or because the album had taken 14 months, cost over $700,000 and bore no resemblance whatsoever to its commercially successful predecessor ‘Color of Spring’ (1986), we may never know.  But, the irrefutable fact remains…it’s beautiful.  Released in 1988, ‘Spirit of Eden’  was ranked by Mojo Magazine back in 1995 (my go-to magazine for all things music) as #87 in their list of the ‘100 Greatest Albums of All Time’.   I think it should have cracked the Top 10…easily.

This album basically screams ‘yoga’….albeit in a very nice, soothing, and meditative kind of way.  Containing everything from full choir and string arrangements to dobros, clarinets, bassoons, and Mexican basses, while also crediting Hugh Davies, an experimental instrument inventor and composer for playing something known as a ‘shozygs’, this is THE album for doing yoga.  And, hey, it’s even great for keeping your mind off those particularly sucky core moments to boot and THAT, is definitely a thing of beauty.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Yoga and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

