Tempo Run (5k)

Winter running sucks.  There I said it.  Having said that though, that doesn’t let off the hook neither, no, it’s just means I have to suck it up and get on with it.  Anyhow, as I was saying, it’s uber-shitty out on the local roads today, so I’m aiming for a pace somewhere, at best, between ‘get home quick before I end up as a salty smear under some idiot driver’s pick-up’ and dead ass slow (i.e. safe), so I opted for something with a little, shall we say, ‘swagger’ to it; something that while not getting my engines totally revved up, doesn’t let them completely idle either; something like the Spin Doctor’s ‘Pocketful of Kryptonite’.

spin_doctors_pocket_full_of_krypton

Remember these guys?  The tracks ‘Jimmy Olsen Blues’, ‘Little Miss Can’t Be Wrong’, or ‘Two Princes’ maybe, probably drove you bat shit crazy on the FM radio back in the early 90’s.  But what you might not have wanted to admit to yourself back then (myself included), is that these tunes are also pretty freakin’ awesome.  And after hearing them enough times that the opening chords practically gave you the dry heaves, after fifteen years, they sound pretty fresh and inviting again; such was my premonition today anyway and it turns out I was right.  God I never get tired of typing those words.

Pocketful of Kryptonite’ was the first album release by the Spin Doctor’s in 1991 and easily their best-selling album, peaking at #3 on the Billboard 200 albums chart.  Obviously, it’s chalked full of Superman references which served to provide a little added inspiration while out running this afternoon since it’s my own personal belief that while runners are inherently crazy, winter runners are totally gonzo and thoroughly deserving of special hero-worthy credit.  At least that’s the belief that kept me going today.  But, as it turns out, maybe it was a little too good over today’s 5k of slippery roads as is evident by my Strava feed.  Booyah!

Successes:  2nd best Strava effort for 5k (24:54), 3rd best effort for 2 mile (15:48)

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Tempo and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

