Drills/Easy Run (7k)

It’s cold enough to freeze the balls off a brass monkey this afternoon but, surprisingly, not altogether unpleasant for running providing you’re bundled up like the Michelin Man of course…which I am.  Today’s goal is to just get back into a regular running regime complete with those gay ABC drills, crossovers, and lateral shuffles over an easy-paced 7k; needless to say, it’s back to the Friendship Trail so no one can see me.  Of course, just in case there are people around I chose a personal favorite of mine – definitely a desert island pick – to distract me from the inquisitive glares of passersby:  John Mayall’s amazing ‘Jazz Blues Fusion’  album (1972).

‘Jazz Blues Fusion’ is a live album by the legendary John Mayall. The first side is from a gig in Boston on 18 November 1971, while the second side was selected from two concerts at Hunter College, New York, on the 3rd and 4th of December, 1971.  This is no particular stand out track since from start to finish this album simply cooks which, as it turns out, plays into my favor today seeing as its so freakin’ cold out.  This album was also my first real introduction into live jazz and blues and John Mayall is THE MAN.  Who is John Mayall you might ask?  Well – in a career spanning over fifty years (his album releases will number well into the hundreds) – he’s only the dude which other notable musicians like Eric Clapton, Mick Taylor, Peter Green, Jack Bruce, John McVie, Mick Fleetwood, Coco Montoya (no, not the guy from ‘Princess Bride’) and Buddy Whittington all got their start.  How’s that for a resume?

On a completely different note, I did have the good fortune to see John Mayall play a number of years ago at The Tralf in Buffalo, NY.

I was stoked to meet him while having him sign his autograph (which also happens to be the album I’m listening to today) but I was rather disappointed to learn that John is not really what you might call a ‘people person’.  He avoided eye contact and simply grunted at me over his ball point pen before dismissing me with a flick of his wrist.  But, hey, when you release an album as good as this, you can line up against a brick wall and hurl shitballs at me for all I care.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Easy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

