Long Run (11k)

After a record-breaking transition from the San Antonio airport to the hotel to the local La Fogata restaurant for an authentic bowl of Caldo de Pollo for lunch (23 minutes), I had just enough time to slip in a quick browse through the Walmart to stock up on energy bars and a wee nap back at the hotel before heading back out again to fit in my long run.

Running in Texas is not without it’s obstacles; primarily the gridlock traffic (most of which is huge ass trucks with gun racks and some sort of antlers mounted to the hood), meth heads and, as it turns out, rattlesnakes.  Anyway, I located the nearby Woodlawn Lake complete with paved running trail that stretches for exactly 2.15k around it’s circumference and to begin my Texas-themed week of workouts, I chose a live performance from the ‘Paul Mason Historic Mountain Winery’  in Saratoga, CA (07-16-00) by none other than the rooster-haired Lyle Lovett & His Small Band.

I won’t profess to be a country and western fan (NEW  country no less), much less a Lyle Lovett fan but, hey, when in Rome, right?  Besides he did bang Julia Roberts for a while so maybe he isn’t all that bad.

When it comes down to it though, Lyle is the quintessential Texan story-teller which is evident in his opening ‘Texas Trilogy’  series, a very interesting introspective on Texan culture while trying to safely navigate – not to mention fart – my way around Woodlawn Lake through the multitude of pet chiahuahua’s belonging to other runners (and let’s not forget all the chiahuahua landmines that permeated the path behind them – picking up dog crap, apparently, is neither a requirement or a consideration in the Lone Star state).  Something else about Lyle, he sure loves his songs about hats.  It’s true!  He certainly epitomizes the Texan love for big ass hats; ‘Don’t Touch My Hat’, ‘Give Me Back My Hat’…dude, what’s with the hat fetish?  Then there’s the offbeat songs about bears and penguins.  Clearly, this Texan is a few pickles short of a barrel but, hey, it was better than getting runner’s rage over all the dog turd.

Anyway, there is one big redeeming feature of this particular concert in that it also features two other musicians of which I am a big fan; namely Sam Bush and David Grisman.  Their involvement on ‘Same ‘ol River’  during the second set is simply “cooking on the front burner”  as they say here in San Antonio.  So, all in all, it was a pretty sweet 11k run (even if it did get a bit tedious after the third lap around) despite the travel fatigue I felt in my legs as I was just happy to be in shorts and t-shirt again.  Time for a shower and some Texas-style BBQ as a reward for a job well done.

Successes:  3rd best effort on Strava for 10k (52:58)

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Long and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

