Spin

This posts marks the creation of a new category on this blog:  ‘Spin’.  While it is still my goal to keep outdoors as much as possible (especially my runs), the current off-season training will also inevitably bring many indoor spin sessions as well.  And while a spin bike at the gym or my trainer at home is not necessarily ‘in motion’ per se, I still listen to music to pass the time.  This is just the first example of many more to come I’m sure.

Tonight, as it happens, I’m spinning in a very warm 35° (with 45% humidity), broom closet they call the ‘Environmental Chamber’.  Yes folks, it’s like spinning in a microwave.  You see, I volunteered to take part in the ‘Separate and Combined Effects of Hydration Status and Thirst on Voluntary Exercise’ study at Brock University’s Kinesiology Lab.  So this whole torture I’m describing of being hot and sweaty, spinning away in an oven while connected to endless electrodes and IV drips is, well, all my own doing.

So, to pass those anguishing 90 minutes of brain sucking boredom while staring at the cold grey, nearly windowless walls of the chamber I, of course, preplanned a little audio stimulus.  Tonight, I played two albums shuffled together to span the hour and a half of being roasted alive, Love & Rockets groovy – and no pun intended considering the actual circumstances – ‘Hot Trip to Heaven’  (1994), and Radiohead’s quintessential ‘The Bends’ (Remastered) album; hot music for a hot box.  Wait…that sounded dirty.

41yd6h903wl

Anyway, these two albums really mold well together, like chocolate and peanut butter, or the ‘Dark Side of the Moon’ and ‘The Wizard of Oz’.  Hey, try it.  Regardless of your simile preference, they do have similar feels to them and seam together nicely.  ‘Hot Trip to Heaven’ represents Love & Rockets big break from their stale ‘ol Goth image to more funky ambient techno hipsters.  Seriously, the band must have finally OD-ed on Vitamin C or something.  And as for Radiohead, well, they just ooze awesome don’t they?  Played together, they equal amazing.  I almost forgot how uncomfortable I was in the chamber and that I had enough fluids leaking from my body to fill a baby pool.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Spin and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

