Drills/Fartlek (5k)

Today I listened to what could very well be one of the finest live performances ever committed to DAT; a little known band who, on that particular night, decided to roll under a different moniker – preferring to call themselves Bingo Hand Job.  The release is (happily) a double album known as ‘From the Borderline’ (1991).

51-oh-tuvel-_sx300_ql70_

Now, before we I go any further, I can some of you crying out “but who in the H-E-double hockey sticks is ‘Bingo Hand Job’?”, right? 

Well, they also happened to be (on this night anyway) the live acoustic reincarnation of old school R.E.M.

keenflawlessatlanticsharpnosepuffer-size_restricted

Yup.

That’s right, this amazing collection of live material was recorded live at the Borderline, on Friday March 19th, 1991, except for portions of the second disc which were recorded at Shocking Club, Milano, on March 22nd.

On hand and joining Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills and Michael Stipe on stage for a lively and largely improvisational acoustic romp of covers, classics, sing-a-longs and other drunken ramblings, were special guests Billy Bragg, Robyn Hitchcock and Peter Holsapple; mixed with alcohol and let sit for an hour and a half.

From the sounds of the scant applause in the audience, this is one of those legendary secret shows whose story gets passed down for generations of fans.  Today, it was the perfect shiny happy soundtrack for today’s shiny happy (yet cool) 5k easy fartlek run with drills.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Fartlek and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment