Drills/Easy (4k)

As a result of my recent running bio-mechanics clinic this past weekend, I have started to incorporate a lot more drills into my weekly runs.  Basically, this means that I perform a series of functional exercises that to the uneducated eye would more seem like I was reenacting the ‘Ministry of Funny Walks’  from Monty Python.  So while this is all aimed at turning me in a lean, mean, efficient running machine I also don’t want to give the neighbors anything more to snicker at than they already have, which is enough; believe me.   Don’t get me wrong, I understand the purpose of these A, B and C drills but, still, they make me feel silly.

soms23pressphoto-e1439921619249-720x491So while I’m feeling silly, I may as well embrace the moment and listen to silly music while I do them.  Hence today’s music choice, a live recording by the Snake Oil Medicine Show from the Brushwood Folklore Center at the O.A.R. Festival in Sherman, NY (06-15-01).

I vaguely remember seeing the Snake Oil Medicine Show perform around the same time at some music festival or other and thinking to myself, ‘what the fuck is this shit?’  It was like a busload of traditional bluegrass musicians somehow managed to collide head on with a full piece ska band and this was the resulting racket: “Hey, you got your Ghost Town in my Rocky Top” – something like that anyway.  They were just unlike anything else I had ever heard before incorporating upright bass, fiddle, drums, ukulele, whistles, horns, spoons and an occasional blast upon a sea-shell conch – added for good measure.  Heck, they even had a full time painter whipping up colorful masterpieces on stage while the band played, and if that doesn’t scream ‘crazy hippies’, I don’t know what does.  To simply say they were eclectic just doesn’t do them justice.

Anyway, it definitely assisted me with getting the business at hand accomplished today…and with a smile on my face to boot.  Thankfully, there was no one else around on the Friendship Trail this morning to witness the 4k worth of weird hopping and skipping drills and other ensuing craziness, and my “easy” jog was accomplished with nary a smirk from any passersby.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Easy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

