Easy Run (5.75k)

Thanks to the marvel of USB technology, I can now listen to my records on my iPod.  I know, right?  What an incredible age of technology we live in.  Before you know it, I might even learn to program the clock on the coffee maker or, shit, actually run the dishwasher.  But I digress…

Today I chose to take advantage of this technological advancement to enjoy one of my favorite albums of all time, David Bromberg’s ‘Wanted Dead or Alive’ released in 1974.

What you may not know about this double album is that is actually a play on words, referring to how the record was created.  Side one of the original LP was recorded in the studio with various musicians, including four members of the Grateful Dead − Jerry Garcia, Phil Lesh, Keith Godchaux and Bill Kreutzmann.  Side two was recorded live. Get it?  Dead – Alive…nevermind.  Anyway, reaching into what he does best, Bromberg came up with an album full of spirit, high energy and musical diversity.   Exactly how I like to think of my runs…most of the time.  Opening with a galloping reprisal of ‘The Holdup’, his collaboration with George Harrison, the rest of the album rarely lets up.  Among my favorites on the album include ‘Send Me to the ‘lectric Chair’, ‘Statesboro Blues’, and ‘New Lee Highway Blues’…all staples of his live performances today.

In fact, complete with all the snaps, crackles and pops of the original vinyl recording still very much prevalent in their digital form, it was the perfect choice today.  The folksiness of the tunes on this album lent themselves well to running 5.75k in the cool autumn breeze along the ‘Friendship Trail’.

P.S.> Dear Mr. Construction Worker:  Where I realize that you might think that my running attire is “gay”, I’d also like to point out that I wasn’t the one who stopped doing what I was doing just to ogle another man running down the road.  Just sayin’…

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Easy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

