Functional Strength/Core

TWO POSTS IN ONE DAY?!!  Yes, it’s true.  You are not suffering a high school induced flashback as today also marked my less than triumphant return to the gym, hence, the double post.

Now, remember, everyone has guilty pleasures when it comes to music.  I just happen to have, well, many I suppose.  What can I say?  One of those guilty pleasures just happens to be George Thorogood & the Destroyers.  ‘Who Do You Love?’, ‘Bad to the Bone’, ‘One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer’, ‘I Drink Alone’, you name it, it’s all good and has probably been featured somewhere on my iPod at some point.  I’m a sucker for it all.  This evening, I sampled a more recent offering in the way his new(ish) album ‘The Hard Stuff’ released back in 2006.

george_thorogood_-_hard_stuff

I know, I know…that’s nearly 10 years ago.  Yeah, well, it’s new to me.  Now, typical Thurogood critics and naysayers will always cry that his music tends to sound the same.  And, yes, he does his personal take on a fair amount of cover tunes.  But while I agree with these criticisms, nobody knows their way around a catchy blues riff like Georgy.  So suck it up people and get with it, wills ya?  After all, when you’re working out you typically don’t spend that time deconstructing the tunes for analytical purposes.  No.  You simply listen to them in order to help you maintain a pace, a mindset, an emotion or feeling, or whatever the initial intent was for the workout was in the first place.  In my case this evening: to get my stud on at the gym.  And you just know that doesn’t happen by listening to that pop crap.

To this end, George fits the bill nicely for a testosterone driven weights workout.  The title track itself, ‘The Hard Stuff’, along with ‘I Didn’t Know’ will probably even remain on my iPod for future playlists alongside other such ‘tough guy’ gym standards by ZZ Top, AC/DC, The Stooges and Van Halen.  So sue me.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Gym and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment