Tempo Run (5.03k)

A little while back I watched a documentary on Netflix entitled ‘Searching for Sugar Man’ (thanks Lance!), about 1960’s folk singer/songwriter named Rodriguez who, while remaining virtually unnoticed in North America, went on to achieve legendary Rock Star status in both Australia and South Africa.  In South Africa especially, his songs inspired the political uprising among young Afrikaans in the early 1970’s, where his popularity was elevated to the likes of the Beatles, Bob Dylan and even Simon & Garfunkel.  But here’s the best part… he had absolutely no idea at the time.  So while the album went on to achieve multiple platinum status overseas, Rodriguez himself continued to live on here in total obscurity.  I know…WTF, right?

I’m so all over that shit, so I downloaded his debut album ‘Cold Fact’  from the Kickass Torrent  website this afternoon to check it out during today’s 5k run.  After all, anyone being compared to Dylan or Lennon demands at least one listen, right?

homepage_large-4120c1ed

My first impression:  HOLY SHIT!  Being a devout Dylan fan, I was prepared to hate it but, honestly, it was really good and served to turn my originally planned easy run into an impromptu tempo run.  It was the perfect driving urban acoustic soundtrack to motivate me along the streets of Crystal Beach; even up the long Derby Rd. incline.

I’d pick out a few highlights from the album for you but, seriously, the entire album is just that fucking good!  Another immediate plus for this album is that in its entirety, it also happens to be the perfect length for a shirt, quick paced tempo run.  I’m still not where I used to be, nor where I want to be fitness-wise…but I’m sure getting there.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Tempo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

